David’s Salsa (or, These things I know to be true)

SAM_1905

I could eat this straight from the bowl, but for decorum’s sake, I put it on my black bean fritters…

Here are some facts: David Sanchez is a PhD student at Schumacher. He is from a tiny village called La Estancia, in Jalisco, Mexico. His family own a ranch where they grow beans and corn which they sell or barter. And his mum, Aurora, is an amazing cook – I haven’t met her, or tasted food from her kitchen, but I know this because I have tasted food made to her recipes, and I am hooked.

The first time David made one of Aurora’s salsas, I couldn’t stop eating it. David has told me a lot about his mother’s cooking, both for her family and their local community, and someday, I hope to travel the 5000 or so miles to Jalisco to meet her and cook with her. Until then, I will cook with David and keep learning.

I say this because David definitely has his mum’s acumen in the kitchen. Yesterday, I asked him to make a tomatillo salsa and, because we didn’t have enough tomatillos, I asked if he would make another one as well. This is the one he came up with, and as before, I couldn’t stop eating it. Plain. Not even on the food, just off a spoon like it was soup. So, I think it might be time to share this recipe, and I have David’s permission.

To both David and Aurora: ¡Gracias! When you try this, you will thank them as well. I’m sure of it.

David_and_Faze

David (in the hat), and Faze (left) another enthusiastic admirer of good food!

David’s Delicious Salsa

  • 3 tomatoes, whole
  • 4 green chilies, whole, destemmed
  • 2 chipotle chilies, whole, destemmed
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 2 tsp salt (or veg stock powder)

Put the tomatoes and chilies in a small pan and just cover them with water. Bring the whole thing to a boil, and let simmer for about 5-10 minutes (until the chipotles are soft).

Remove from heat and put it all in a blender, along with the garlic and salt (David used vegetable stock powder, which I don’t often use, but he said salt works just as well). Blend thoroughly, and adjust the seasoning.

Try not to eat too much before you get it to the table.

2 thoughts on “David’s Salsa (or, These things I know to be true)

  1. Pingback: 6 August 2015 | Little Home Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Week 35 2015 | Little Home Kitchen

Leave a Reply

